top of page
  • Writer's pictureEloise Bray

Institute of Technical Textiles Site Layout and Plans - P01

I have focused on developing the footprint of the Institute of Technical Textiles, as I was not completely happy with the first draft. In addition - I have also included draft vehicular movement and parking arrangements as well as splitting the overall accommodation into public and private.


Considering the structure of the building - and the irregular angles of the proposed institute, I think I am going to propose a combination of steel beams and load bearing re-enforced bio-concrete walls. I am also considering the use of glu-laminated timber as I feel the material of such will work nicely with my proposals - as I am trying to create an "earthy" aesthetic.

Site Layout Plan - P01


As a major design element of the institute is the inclusion of labs and a factory in order to develop non-woven materials in alignment with Professor Pariks research, as well as research and develop the use of algae in the production of bio fuels - I have consulted with a scientist who works extensively in labs about specific design requirements/specifications, recommendations and considerations for laboratories and their associated spaces, and have begun to consider and implement them in the plans.

Institute Ground Floor Plan - P01


Considering the privacy requirements of the building and occupants, I have separated accommodation designated for public use in an additional building situated in the centre of the site, in order to not cast shadows onto the land designated for horticulture and algae farms.

Cafe / Exhibition / Performance Space Ground Floor Plan - P01


As the building for the public accommodation is significantly smaller - I will be considering this building for the law and management unit.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

©2020 by EB-log Design. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page