top of page
  • Writer's pictureEloise Bray

Air Remediation Machines

Updated: Nov 16, 2020

After our group tutorials on Thursday (my 25th birthday too) I felt encouraged to rethink the purpose of my architectural machine/s designed in the digital design workshop in order to incorporate them into the overall 'umbrella' theme covering both TMA1195 and TMA1196.


Throughout the urban study project we have developed the theme of bio-diversity and carbon neutral design. Replenishing and balancing eco-systems and creating architecture that is environmentally conscious and more positive to nature than it is detrimental - this is a kind of utopia world I would like to design for.


I decided to develop further an idea I had a few weeks ago which involved architectural machines remediating a site/environment prior to and after development. These machines should form of programme of works that can clean an environment and balance the eco-systems local to that area.


Prior to these designs, I had already done some research on air remediation so that is where I began with my designs. When considering materials in this futuristic world, I felt inspired by brass instruments, which require air to be used for their purpose. I also wanted to create a quirky machine which celebrates all the pipes and tubes that it's comprised of.


The simple concept of these machines is that they are to act as a walking compressing extractor fans/catalytic converters, inhaling the air, allowing it to pass through a series of filters that in turn separates the toxins and extracts the 'clean air'. The redundant material collected should be stored, compressed and used for other purposes further down the remediation line. As these machines are to be used prior to and after a development, I want to show them with vegetation growing around them - as to suggest that not only does the purpose of the machine benefit the environment but the structure itself has also provided some form of habitat/benefit to its surroundings.


As well as modelling these machines in 3D, I have also studied Bryan Cantley and Perry Kulper's style of drawings recommended by Hyun in order to produce the final triptych. I especially liked Brian Cantley's colour pallets and compositions and therefore I'm experimenting with my own 2D images in his style. These are a work in progress, there is a lot I want to do to try and develop them further. This is a new form of drawing which I am not used to but I feel that there may be more of a methodology to it than I originally anticipated.

Test 01: Produced on Rhino3D, Sketchup, Vectorworks and Photoshop




Test 012: Produced on Rhino3D, Sketchup and Vectorworks

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

©2020 by EB-log Design. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page