top of page
  • Writer's pictureEloise Bray

Thesis Research // Designing the Tesseract

As I am speculating creating forms in the 4th dimension, I have researched into the design of the four dimensional tesseract within the ending of Interstellar. Although I find the diagrams and illustrations below helpful in explaining the theory and physics behind the tesseract, I felt that the true-to-geometry form resulted in little to no room for interpretation.

Nolan, inspired by Eschers work of tessellation when initially designing for the tesseract, as well as acknowledging that time is a new consideration when travelling through the tesseract - I tried to expand on these ideas by creating the impossible structure below:

Building on the idea of humans harnessing the power of gravity much like the end of Interstellar, evolving into 4th dimensional humans (the concept taken from 2001 - A Space Odyssey) as well as taking inspiration from Manifold Gardens where the X/Y/Z axis are not fixed - which I think is a relevant link to humans harnessing gravity; I have begun to design my own series of Escheresque impossible structures as a manifold in space time, where 4 dimensional humans can travel around in order to observe time through the portals built into the structure.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

©2020 by EB-log Design. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page